Exploding poo

No one tells you about the poo. I mean the poo after the newborn bit and how it appears. You really are in for a treat. You are going to love how warm it gets too!

I had around 16-20 nappy changes a day at the beginning, not including when they go immediately after a nappy change. The exploding poo or worst poo incidents always seem to be at the most inconvenient time.

I’ve had poo dripping across the floor and all over the scales at a weigh-in with the midwife.

I’ve had poo land in my hand as I changed them. It looks like icing coming out of a piping bag! I always wonder how such a small baby could produce so much poo! Where are they storing it?

I’ve gone through 3, yes 3 nappies in less then a minute as the poo just kept on coming!

I’ve had poo cover the whole surface area of inside the nappy so when you take it off it looks like they are wearing a nappy made of poo.

I’ve had poo filling up the whole leg of a romper suit. I thought Miss C had hurt herself and her leg had swollen up but no it was full of warm gooey poo.

When they are on solids, the colour varies according to what they have eaten (which makes it very interesting) and is less runny and more firm like a poo you and I would do. I call these nuggets especially if they are small and perfectly formed. If I find one of these I consider myself lucky. I usually pick these straight out with a wet wipe and reuse the nappy. (I know what you are thinking. Seriously? Eugh! – But when you have twins and change as many nappies as I do everyday you look for short cuts – But I only do this if the nappy isn’t also wet).

Once on a play date, I was at an NCT ladies’ house and I changed Miss C’s nappy. It was a typical nugget as described above and instead of picking it out I thought I would be polite and just change the whole nappy as I was with company. But when I held the nappy in my hand and started to wrap it up, the poo fell out and rolled across her carpet…..I was mortified! Thankfully it was so firm that it didn’t do any lasting damage but coincidently I have not been invited back since!

My favourite is a sneaky poo. It lulls you into a false sense of security. You go for a nappy change,… you wait with bated breath as to what you might find,….you open the front of the nappy and see…. a pea sized nugget. Phew, what a relief. Quick nappy change here then……. or so you thought!  As you lift the legs up you see the nugget getting bigger and bigger and bigger and then you realise that it has been squashed all the way up the back. Brilliant. Not a quick nappy change as you thought but half a pack of wet wipes later and another change of clothes.

Its very rare a day goes by that you don’t find some clothes soaking in the kitchen sink but don’t even get me started on the day I came home to find Mr G had poo on his face!

5 thoughts on “Exploding poo

  1. ldskatelyn

    HAHA. So many memories of the early days with my twins!! We learned that you need to wait five minutes from when you hear the thunder from down under to when you change them to ensure that they are indeed done. That helped with a lot the shooting poo disasters and the amount of diapers (errr nappies?) we used. And different brands proved better than others. Good luck!! And happy cleaning.

    Reply
    1. Erin670 Post author

      Thanks! Yes still so many days of poo adventures and change of clothes (namely one today!) but it is all part of the fun!

      Reply
  2. kateywrites

    Oh, I remember those days. Although just when you think those days are gone, they can sneak back up on you. My 4-year-old has been potty-trained for over 18 months, but yesterday inexplicably poo’d while we were working in the garden. Right into her cowboy boots. If it wasn’t so funny, I probably would have cried!
    All the best to you – thanks for letting us laugh along with you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

